NSE Series – The National Stock Exchange (NSE) started trading in the equities segment (Capital Market segment) on November 3, 1994. Within a short span of 1 year became the largest exchange in India in terms of volumes transacted.

Permitted Asset Class (NSE Series)

Various products are traded on the Capital Markets. Segments viz., Equity shares, Preference shares, Warrants, Debentures, Exchange traded Funds, Mutual Funds (close ended), Government Securities and Indian Depository Receipts.

For trading purpose, each asset type is assigned a NSE series.

Each Series distinguishes the scrips and / or the people who can trade in those series.

Listed in the table below are the symbols which denote the various types of series traded on the NSE :-

NSE SeriesNote :-

  • Retail investors generally come across only NSE EQ and BE.
  • Normal share trading is done under the NSE EQ and intra-day squaring of the trade is possible. This means a trade can be settled without accepting or giving its delivery.
  • As under BE category no intra-day trade is allowed and the ‘delivery percentage’ is 100 %.
  • Please follow this Link on the NSE website for more details.

Leave a message if you have a query or more information on this topic.

Written by Kapil Marwaha

Kapil Marwaha is the Founder & Managing Director of TrueData Financial Information Pvt. Ltd.. His aim - "To make TrueData the Best Trading Decision Support company in the country." TrueData's flagship product Velocity 2.0 has already become immensely popular and is used by a large audience through out the country.

This article has 15 comments

  1. Saraswathi Moorthy Reply

    Thank u so much. They info was very helpful and precise

  2. Christen Reply

    It’s in reality a great annd usefu piece of info.
    I am happy that you shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *